Officers

    • PRESIDENT:

    Stephen Vlahos svlahos@hotmail.com

    • 1ST VICE PRESIDENT:

    Andrea Liacouras Kapsilis andrea.liacouras@comcast.net

    • 2ND VICE PRESIDENT:

    Anthony Alexiou tonyalexiou@gmail.com

    • TREASURER:

    Peter Averinos hofcards@aol.com

    • ASSIS. TREASURER:

    George Kostolampros gkostolampros@hotmail.com

    • SECRETARY:

    Anastasia Kranias akranias@gmail.com

Members

  • Victoria Kantsios Alex: vkantsios@comcast.net
  • Georgio Comninos: Georgio.comninos@gmail.com
  • Mike Emanuel: msemanuel1210@gmail.com
  • Sean Frazier: sean@hsubuilders.com
  • George Garbis: gdgdds@comcast.net
  • Rhea Karavangelos: rdkara@gmail.com
  • Paul Lekas: paul.lekas@gmail.com
  • Gus Scilaris: gus@scilaris.com
  • John Sitilides: sitilides@gmail.com
  • Peter Tsirigotis: pltsirigotis@yahoo.com

Notes:

  • Greek Orthodox Church of Saint George Parish Council members serve two-year terms.
  • Meetings are held the third Tuesday of each month.
  • Elections are typically held the second Sunday in December.


Background

A Parish Council is the administrative body of a Church community elected by its stewards for the purpose of working together with the Parish Priests in fulfilling the mission and goals of our community.

Historically, clergy and laity have worked together in dealing with matters of the Church’s life.

The Parish Council is an example of the synergy of clergy and laity; it is a vehicle for implementing the ongoing mission of the Church and planning the necessary strategies, policies, procedures, and activities that will enable the Parish to move forward in accomplishing God’s work.

Upon being elected to serve a special ministry you are now an official representative of the Church and thus are expected to exert every effort to exemplify its sacred character and spirit.

Upon election to this trusted office, you assume three basic obligations which will help guide you in your ministry:

  • To understand, live by, and uphold the tenets, teachings, and traditions of the Greek Orthodox Church;
  • To understand and abide by the Uniform Parish Regulations (UPR) as set forth by the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America through the Clergy-Laity Congresses.
  • To live by and uphold your oath of office by utilizing your God-given time, talents, and treasures for the spiritual progress and advancement of your parish.

The most important responsibility of the Parish Council is to assist the Presiding Priest in the administration of the ministries of the Parish. Some of the principal roles employed by effective Parish Councils include, but are not limited to, planning, developing, organizing, and implementing stewardship programs and various educational ministries of the Church; reporting and communicating to the parishioners the work and ministries of the Church at the Metropolis and Archdiocesan levels; and recruiting and training others for further service. The Parish Council must also abide by Local, State, and Federal statutes applicable to the Parish and by the UPR.

In all things, Council members should imitate our Lord Jesus Christ, who “came not to be served but to serve” (Matthew 20:28). The entire focus of the Parish Council must be to serve the needs of the faithful and to spread the Gospel of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America. (2010) Welcome to the Parish Council. New York, NY